Competitions – History

Mens Competition Winners 2018    
ChampionshipBrian Sage
HandicapSteve Eldridge
Two WoodRoger Morgan
VeteransBarry Dobson
TyroOwain Lebreton
PairsPeter Bretton
Brian Sage

Competition Winners 2017 - Men

ChampionDerek Sadler
HandicapRoger Morgan
Two WoodAndrew Broad
VeteransBarrie Dobson
TyroIwan Rogers
PairsNathan Salmon & Christian Eldridge
Joe Orr TournamentRay Price, Ed Jones, Wynne Roberts, Roger Morgan, Geoff Lewis

WBA Carruthers Shield


Whitchurch reached the semi-final of the Carruthers Cup , for the first time in the Club’s history, led by Club Captain, Barrie Dobson. The semi-finals were held in LLandrindod Wells in August and the team were well supported by many from the Club who travelled to see them that day.

Unfortunately the team were beaten in the match by Aberdare (Harlequins) who in turn were beaten in the final by Penylan.  (At least Penylan are another Cardiff team)


Once again Whitchurch had a successful run in the early rounds and reached the quarter finals which were played on 1st August. The Club were drawn away to Pontrhydyfen who have been Welsh Champions on a number of occasions and on the day proved strong enough to stop our progress in the competition. We look forward to 2016 !